top of page

Ehlers-Danlos, Revolution!

Finally, more desperate for a breakthrough than I'd ever been, my stepmom helped clear the way for a new path. She met a rheumatologist whilst out and about, and struck a converstion about my medical troubles. The doctor decided to see me, despite not getting referrals on my behalf any longer. She saw me immediately, ran a string of more tests that concluded nothing, including CT scans, bone density tests, X rays, more blood tests than I'd ever endured, and a thorough physical exam and perusal of my records. She sent me back to Mayo clinic, but in a different direction. I was to see a general doctor who would then send me through special tests. This lead me down the path to a much more true diagnosis, finally. It still took several months to get it all ironed out, but the final test they gave me, on a whim, was the motion analysis test. It pointed the doctors in the correct direction for the very first time in my 36 years of life. It lead to a genetic counselor, and to Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, hypermobility type in March 2012. The tip of the iceberg was rocking my boat.

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive

bottom of page