top of page

2005-2009 Begins the long process of discovery.

In August of 2005, not only did I get married, but I was finding I could no longer ignore my growing list of physical demands. I also thought I was on the path to beginning a family with my new husband and step children, and hopefully some of our own children, and I wanted to be in shape for it. My pain was overwhelming, leading to a never ending vicious circle of fatigue and lack of energy for the demands of life. I was used to cooking, cleaning, traveling, and visiting friends and family. I worked long hours, and ejoyed the paycheck that came with it. I was in the prime of my life, and everything I'd ever worked for was finally falling into place. Or, so I thought...

I visited a holistic Dr. who specialized in chronic pain. She diagnosed me with Fibromyalgia and suggested therapies and supplements that should help. Unfortunately, nothing that I tried truly helped. In fact, things were only growing worse. I kept working and remained active. I searched harder and more desperately for answers. I added more physical therapy and chiropractic care to my growing list of remedies, to little or no avail.

In 2009, I had my first surgery to remove my gall bladder. I didn't have stones, but a HIDA scan showed my gall bladder was barely working. We thought this move could eliminate some tummy troubles. Honestly, the removal made no difference, and the trouble commenced. I had a tough time waking up with pain, and pain meds only worked for an hour or two, at most. The surgeon was more concerned with my stomach issues, and ordered more tests prior to surgery to see if I was a candidate for Reflux surgery, as well. They found gastritis, duodenitis, and hiatal hernia, but decided it wasn't enough to perform another surgery on.

I, then, had my tonsils removed in the same year. I had strep throat every year for many, many years, and tonsil lolliths (stones) took over. They were gross, smelled bad, and at times felt like they were choking me. Upon removal, I recall my ENT Dr. saying, 'they were full of crud'. Though, pain was a major issue this time. Pain Meds don't work properly! I didn't sleep for a week, and the dr. finally precribed something that should help. It made sleep possible that first night, but it still didn't touch the pain as it should.

It was a relief to have them gone. I get strep throat less frequently, now.

Then, in November of 2009, I developed an egg-sized cyst on my left thyroid. WHAT?! It continued to fill itself up, and I had to have it drained twice whilst waiting for surgery to remove the Left side and Left isthmus of my thyroid.The ENT Dr. explained that it was a birth defect that usually appears in children and teens. It was a fold from developing in the uterus. OK?! I had a tough time with my heart coming out of the anesthetic from this one, along with pain med issues.

I was pretty beat up from all of the surgeries and anestethics. I was greatful that things seemed to be moving forward, and was still hopeful that all of these surgeries would lead to a fuller life and more complete recovery than before. Besides, what on earth could happen next?

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive

bottom of page